Yesterday – the good, the bad and the ugly!

The good was great, the bad was not so bad, the ugly was downright disgusting!

So, the great.  Receiving some post, that I hadn’t collected from the letterbox on Saturday due to torrential rain, and finding that not only was it not waterlogged but it also contained something very beautiful, very handmade and very for me!

It was made by the lovely Kylie from 3 sheets and was a Pay It Forward gift.  Thank you Kylie I love it and will treasure it!  I first came across Kylie’s blog on the last Sew, Mama, Sew! Giveaway some time back so it seems apt to mention that this time I will be taking part too.  Click on the link on the sidebar to see what it’s all about and be sure to come back tomorrow, or the next day!, for the giveaway.

The bad, like I said wasn’t so bad, because when you wake up at 5.30am you get a lot done in the day!  It also means Little Miss Blue has a daytime sleep!

And the ugly, well you can see for self!  Yesterday I was into my sewing but having been a bit slack on the food front I decided I would make us all a lovely tea.  I’d seen a lovely recipe for spinach and ricotta gnocchi and decided that and some salads would be tasty and healthy.  This is what it looked like in the beautifully photographed recipe book from the library:

at this stage I was somewhat sceptical but kept my faith:

when it looked like this I thought it might all be OK:

now you know it’s going to end badly!  This was the result:

What can I say?  We ended up with some mutant spinach, ricotta, egg, parmesan stew!  Tea turned out to be beans on toast! x 

PS I think this could well qualify for a moment, as defined by Amy of A Common Place Life, after her initial post here, found courtesy of  Amy over at Seven Stitches – thanks to both Amys!

Leave a Reply

