Dens, kitchens and beaches …

Since Little Miss Brown has been at home there’s been a lot of playing with her sister, and I do mean a lot.  And they’ve been playing really nicely, for long periods at a time … have I just put a commentator’s curse on it?!!!  Dens are featuring a lot in their play.  I remember spending endless hours making dens with my brother and it’s great to see them doing the same.  It’s funny how it’s just happened – it’s not like I encouraged them or told them to they just did it.  Long may it continue.

 

 

Their method of securing the blankets just with books doesn’t really work that well but they’re happy and I’m sure it’ll evolve of its own accord when they’re ready!

Myself and the girls spent a couple of days at the beach recently whilst the worker (aka my darling husband) started working on the kitchen.  It was in a partial demo site state when we moved in and we’ve decided we’ve lived with the holes in the ceiling, big draughts and patchwork walls long enough.  Having done this a fair few times I know how messy things can get so we scarpered and left him to it!

It’s surprising how easy it actually is to live side by side with cobwebs!

So whilst this was being done we were enjoying the beach.  The first day we went down to the beach the girls played so well together and entertained themselves that I decided to take things for me the following day – a lounger, a book, my camera and my crochet!!!  It was bliss.  I’d written down a couple of patterns the day before we left and found myself hooking away.  Having not done any crochet for a few months I really enjoyed – will get some photos for tomorrow.  For now just gratuitous fun children shots!

Just happy playing!

Note thrifted retro lounger – $2 at garage sale and little Red Riding Hood basket – $1 at Sallies!

Crochet in progress!

Sand angels are always fun

as is climbing big driftwood tree trunks.  But the most fun?  Jumping off the big driftwood tree trunks of course!

And they really do not mind the sand everywhere!  And I do mean everywhere:

So back home now in a topsy turvy kitchen, with a market to prepare for and Christmas present to make.  Maybe I should just head straight back down to the beach! x

3 responses to “Dens, kitchens and beaches …

  1. Love your Grandma Twinkles in progress…
    and I would love to have a day at the beach…
    I use to live right on the beach but now I live in the country and is about a 4 hour drive to the closest spot…I have to be content with the public pool and a few little rivers…
    Looks like a fabulous day at you house…

  2. Ahhh, nothing like a den made with siblings. It’s a rite of passage I’m sure. We used to secure ours in similarly dodgy ways.

    And how about that for eating sand. MMmmm, delicious !?

  3. Isn’t it so nice when they play together – nicely! Sounds like a very relaxing visit to the beach! I hope the house rennovations continue smoothly, we are about to start our house extension – I’m not looking forward to the mess that’s going to come with it!

Leave a Reply

